Heartless

Book – Heartless

Author – Marissa Meyer

Rating – 4.5/5

Blurb

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

REVIEW:

“A heart, once stolen, can never be taken back.”

I still can’t get over Off with his head. Heartless is an evil tale of a queen loosing her heart. I hadn’t read Alice in Wonderland before but Merrisa gave the correct information about all the characters. It didn’t seem like I was lacking behind  but to understand the story better I read the Alice in wonderland first.

Hearts is a place where people live in harmony. They don’t have executions and killings but all this was changed when a jabberwock disrupt a dance.

The character of Queen of Hearts, Catherine was so well developed. It didn’t transform from bad to good but good to bad. She loved baking but as the daughter of Marchioness and a lady, opening a bakery wasn’t in her fate. The King of Hearts wanted to marry her but she couldn’t imagine herself as his wife. Her character felt real to me. Then she meets the court joker, Jest. Instantly, she feels attraction towards him and his quirky remarks. That was something that tick me off. Insta love has become a trend in the YA world.

Jest was the court joker but his real purpose for coming in the Hearts was something else. Like Cath, he too feel attracted to her despite the fact that the King has courted her.

What shocked me was th climax. I can’t get over it. That wasn’t fair was all I could do was scream inside my head. Twists and turns were okay but climax. It blew me of out nowhere even if I knew what was going to happen.

Catherine was a pure heart girl and circumstances changed her into a bitter woman without any feeling of pain and a broken heart.

Not only that, you read about Mad Hatta. Literally, I kept on waiting for his scenes, imagining Jonny Depp. I’m mad. I know. Also, the white rabbit, the caterpillars etc.

It wasn’t just alone Alice in Wonderland but it had the concept of Looking through the glass.

The writing was easy to understand. It was a well written book. I enjoyed it even if it was an evil read and left me with tears and anguish at the end. I would recommend it to everyone.

This is a standalone book. If anyone is wondering.

I think Marissa is becoming the queen of retellings, even though, I haven’t completed the Lunar Chronicles yet. Maybe I will complete it this year.

If you liked the review, please follow my blog. And if you’ve any recommendations, do comment below.

Thank You.

“The easiest way to steal something, is for it to be given willingly.” 

Leave a comment